Congratulations Whitney Jones, Jessica L. Walsh, Pablo Otavalo, winners of the Illinois Emerging Writers Competition

Photo courtesy Illinois Center for the Book
RHINO, as part of its effort to encourage poetry reading and writing in our schools, supports the Emerging Writing Competition begun by Jesse White, Illinois Secretary of State, to promote creative writing and recognizing new literary talent in the state.
  This year the winners are:
1st Place The Dollar Value of Fingers by Whitney Jones
2nd Place The Library Again by Jessica L. Walsh
3rd Place The Year of the Dragon by Pablo Otavalo
The winners read their poems and received their awards from Secretary White and Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein, who succeeded Gwendolyn Brooks in that position, during a ceremony at the Illinois State Library.

“I started the Illinois Emerging Writers Competition to promote creative writing and provide a unique opportunity for recognizing new literary talent in the state,” White said. “Illinois has a long and rich literary heritage, and these poets are adding to the tradition established by legendary Illinois poets like Gwendolyn Brooks. Great poems have the ability to enrich and enhance our lives, and I’m pleased to congratulate this year’s talented winners.”

The competition is named for the late Pulitzer Prize-winning Illinois Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks. It is co-sponsored by the Illinois Center for the Book and Kevin Stein who selected the final winners.

The winning poems are available to read at



RHINO Reads! Open Mic and Featured Readers Heather Cox and Sarah Carson 2-27-15



Open Mike        6:00 pm – 6:30 pm

Featured Readers        6:45 pm – 7:30 pm

Brothers K

500 Main St.



Heather Cox is the founding editor of Ghost Ocean Magazine and the chapbook press Tree Light Books. Heather’s work has been published or is forthcoming in [PANK], Mid-American Review (Editor’s Choice, 2012 Fineline Competition), Columbia Poetry Review, Thrush Press, Boxcar Poetry Review, and DIALOGIST, among others; her poetry has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and her chapbook Dream Seller was a 2012 Strange Machine Books finalist. 

Sarah Carson’s poetry and short stories have appeared in Columbia Poetry Review, DIAGRAM, Guernica, The Nashville Review, and The New Orleans Review, among others. She is the author of three chapbooks, and two full-length collections, Poems in which You Die (BatCat Press, 2014) and Buick City (Mayapple Press, f2015). Sarah is also a former associate editor of RHINO



RHINO 2015 Translation Prize awarded to two poems!


The Editors of RHINO occasionally choose to award a prize for the translated poem which had the greatest impact on us for that reading period.  From the 2015 issue, there was a tie.

We are pleased to award the RHINO 2015  Translation Prize  for the following poems: 

Cause by Farouk Goweda, translated from the Arabic by Walid Abdallah and Andy Fogle
Devil & Freedom by Olja Savičević Ivančević, translated from the Croatian by Andrea Jurjević 
These poems will be available online in April 2015, when the print issue is released. For more about the Translation Prize, including previous winners, click here.


Congratulations Illinois Arts Council Literary Award Nominees Nina Corwin, Dan Godston, Tim Hillegonds, Tim Hunt, Kathleen Kirk, Matthew Minicucci, Pablo Otavalo, Laura Ramos, Michael Robins, Joshua Young

The Editorial Board of RHINO is extremely pleased to announce the nomination of the following Illinois poets and their poems from RHINO 2014 for the 2015 Illinois Arts Council Literary Awards.
Literary Awards recognize Illinois writers and promote greater awareness of non-commercial publishing in the state. The award encourages Illinois not-for-profit literary magazines to publish and disseminate new work by living Illinois writers and poets.” 
We’re so grateful to the Illinois Arts Council for this program.  To read about past winners from RHINO, click here.
Congratulations, Poets!
Dan Godston • Violet Gas
Tim Hillegonds • Biology
Pablo Otavalo • Great-Grand
Michael Robins • State of the Union
Joshua Young • August ’82