Pushcart Nominees from RHINO 2014


The Editors of RHINO are pleased to announce our nominees from the 2014 issue for the Pushcart Prize:


rhino2014wComedy of Mirrors – Brandon Krieg

Planet Earth – P. Scott Cunningham

Poem in honor of the one-year anniversary of my sister Aleida’s death, which is five days away

– Jose Antonio Rodriguez

Body Breakers – MaryJo Thompson

Americas – Adam Scheffler

Peace Before Cigarette Butt Storm –  written by Shahram Shahidi,- translated from the Persian by Alireza Taheri Araghi, edited by Thade Correa




RHINO 2014 Issue 1.1 now online!

rhino2014wThe editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that we will publish the poems of RHINO 2014  entirely online over the next few months.

We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly:  the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.

Our plan is to release the online issue by thirds, in July/August,  November/December, and February/March.

You can now find the poems from the authors below, here.


Samuel Ace •  Jose Angel Araguz  • Rebecca Kinzie Bastian • Daniel Bourne • Josh A. Brewer • Jeff Burt • William Coughlin •  Joey De Jesus • Lane Falcon • Hannah Fries • Tim Hillegonds • Tim Hunt • Sandra Kolankiewicz • Matthew Landrum •  Elizabeth Langemak • Julia B. Levine • Diana Lueptow •  Michael Marberry • David Tomas Martinez • John C. Morrison • Jóanes Nielsen • Marge Piercy • Laura Praytor •  Octavio Quintanilla • Nita K. Ritzke • Michael Robins • José Antonio Rodríguez • Philip Schaefer •  Adam Scheffler •  Sarah J. Sloat •  Billy Templeton III •  Madeline Vardell • Jesse Wallis • Benjamin Winkler • Joshua  Young

Congratulations, 2014 Founders’ Prize winner Jose Antonio Rodriguez and Runners-up Adam Scheffler, MaryJo Thompson


Congratulations 2014 Founders’ Prize winner Jose Antonio Rodriguez for his poem

“Poem in honor of the one-year anniversary of my sister Aleida’s death, which is five days away”.


MJT 1-2009AdamPic

Congratulations Runners-up winners

MaryJo Thompson for her poem ”Body Breakers”

and Adam Scheffler for his poem “Americas”.

Their work will appear in RHINO 2014 (and available on our website), scheduled for release (as always) in April, National Poetry Month.