RHINO 2015 Online Issue No. 1.1 is up!

RHINO 2015 cover largex

The editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that our first installment of our online edition of RHINO 2015 is here!


We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly; the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.


The second installment will go up in October and the third and final installment will go up in December.

You can now find the poems from the authors below, here.


Featuring work by

Dilruba Ahmed • José Angel Araguz • Nayelly Barrios • Peter Burzynski • Marcelo Hernandez Castillo • Sara Biggs Chaney • T. Zachary Cotler • J. Jerome Cruz • Chelsea Dingman • Joe Eldridge • Jenny George • Farouk Goweda • Walid Abdallah • Andy Fogle • Susan Grimm • Sara Henning • Amorak Huey • Esteban Ismael • Olja Savičević Ivančević • Andrea Jurjević • Don Judson • Samantha Leigh • Gregory Mahrer • Nate Marshall • Carlo Matos • Meredith McDonough • Faisal Mohyuddin Christina Mun-Lutz  Maureen O’Brien  Sunthorn Phu  •Noh Anothai • Khadijah Queen • Kevin Riel • Carol Sadtler • sam sax • Kevin Simmonds • Rachel L. Slotnick • Lisa Summe • Paul Tran • Rachel Jamison Webster • Keith S. Wilson • Monika Zobel 


Congratulations 2015 Editors’ Prize Winner Jose Angel Araguz, 2nd Prize Winner Paul Tran, Honorable Mention Nate Marshall, and Finalists!

Every year the Editors of RHINO Poetry select works that have had the greatest impact on us, and award them the Editors’ Prize. Cash awards are given for First Prize, Second Prize, and Honorable Mention. In addition, we nominate the First Prize and sometimes other place winners for the Pushcart Prize. There is no application process.

2015 Editors’ Prizes

Araguz author photo 2

First Prize: Jose Angel Araguz – Joe


Second Prize: Paul Tran – [He picked me up]


Honorable Mention: Nate Marshall – buying new shoes

The editors are very pleased to name these 4 Finalists:

Christina Mun-Lutz  – A Story of War
sam saxEssay on Crying in Public
Derek J G WilliamsThese Kingdoms of Ours
Their work will appear in RHINO 2015 (and available on our website), scheduled for release (as always) in April, National Poetry Month.