RHINO Reads! at Normal, IL | TUES Nov 15, 7pm | Stephen Frech, Jannett Highfill, Tim Hunt, Kathleen Kirk, Matthew Murrey, Valerie Wallace #RHINO40Readings40Cities


40readings40citiesmap w rhino monuments_78028765_WM-2


Join us Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Normal Public Library – Library Cafe on the 1st Floor

206 W College Ave.

Normal, IL


Doors open at 7pm

7:30p Featured Readers (all former contributors with RHINO)

Stephen Frech

Jannett Highfill

Tim Hunt

Matthew Murrey

Valerie Wallace+

Host: Kathleen Kirk+

+former RHINO editor

We’re thrilled to help sponsor this event as part of our 40th Anniversary Year!

Click here to find out more about our #RHINO40Readingsin40Cities initiative



Congratulations Illinois Arts Council Literary Award Nominees Nina Corwin, Dan Godston, Tim Hillegonds, Tim Hunt, Kathleen Kirk, Matthew Minicucci, Pablo Otavalo, Laura Ramos, Michael Robins, Joshua Young

The Editorial Board of RHINO is extremely pleased to announce the nomination of the following Illinois poets and their poems from RHINO 2014 for the 2015 Illinois Arts Council Literary Awards.
Literary Awards recognize Illinois writers and promote greater awareness of non-commercial publishing in the state. The award encourages Illinois not-for-profit literary magazines to publish and disseminate new work by living Illinois writers and poets.” 
We’re so grateful to the Illinois Arts Council for this program.  To read about past winners from RHINO, click here.
Congratulations, Poets!
Dan Godston • Violet Gas
Tim Hillegonds • Biology
Pablo Otavalo • Great-Grand
Michael Robins • State of the Union
Joshua Young • August ’82


RHINO 2014 Issue 1.2 now online!

rhino2014The editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that our second installment of RHINO 2014 is online!  We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly:  the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.

Our first installment of 2014’s poems went up in July and we anticipate the third and last installment of poems will be online in   February/March.

You can now find the poems from the authors below, here.


Tory Adkisson • Mahmud Al-Braikan • Haider Al-Kabi • Hamutal Bar-Yosef • Emma Bolden • J. Camp Brown • Nahshon Cook • Ismelda Cruz • Shawn Fawson •  Elisa Gabbert • Kathleen Rooney •  Dan Gutstein • Paul Hostovsky • Jessie Janeshek • Kathleen Kirk • Diane LeBlanc • Ann Lynn •  Ruth Madievsky • Thomas March • Matthew Minicucci • Abby E. Murray • Pablo Otavalo • Michelle Peñaloza • Dan Pinkerton • Laura Ramos • Gwen North Reiss • AJ Roberts • Tomaž Šalamun • Danez Smith • Frank Terry • Brandon Whiting



RHINO Reads! Open Mic & Featured Poets Susan Slaviero and Kathleen Kirk 11-20-09

Open Mike           6:00 – 6:30

Featured Poets       6:45 – 7:30

Brothers K

500 Main St.

Evanston, IL


Susan Slaviero is the author of two poetry chapbooks: An Introduction to the Archetypes (Shadowbox Press, 2008) and Apocrypha (Dancing Girl Press, 2009).  Her work has appeared in Flyway, RHINO, Fourteen Hills, Arsenic Lobster, Caffeine Destiny and other journals. She designs and edits the online literary journal blossombones.

Kathleen Kirk will be reading from Broken Sonnets, her new chapbook (Finishing Line Press, 2009).  Finishing Line will also publish Living on the Earth in 2010, an honorable mention winner in their New Women’s Voices series.  Her work has also been published in The Common Review, After Hours, Another Chicago Magazine, Ekphrasis, Greensboro Review, Many Mountains Moving, Ninth Letter, and Spoon River Poetry Review Kathleen is a former editor of RHINO and former associate editor of Poetry East.