Congratulations Illinois Arts Council Literary Award Nominees Nina Corwin, Dan Godston, Tim Hillegonds, Tim Hunt, Kathleen Kirk, Matthew Minicucci, Pablo Otavalo, Laura Ramos, Michael Robins, Joshua Young

The Editorial Board of RHINO is extremely pleased to announce the nomination of the following Illinois poets and their poems from RHINO 2014 for the 2015 Illinois Arts Council Literary Awards.
Literary Awards recognize Illinois writers and promote greater awareness of non-commercial publishing in the state. The award encourages Illinois not-for-profit literary magazines to publish and disseminate new work by living Illinois writers and poets.” 
We’re so grateful to the Illinois Arts Council for this program.  To read about past winners from RHINO, click here.
Congratulations, Poets!
Dan Godston • Violet Gas
Tim Hillegonds • Biology
Pablo Otavalo • Great-Grand
Michael Robins • State of the Union
Joshua Young • August ’82


RHINO 2014 Issue 1.2 now online!

rhino2014The editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that our second installment of RHINO 2014 is online!  We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly:  the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.

Our first installment of 2014’s poems went up in July and we anticipate the third and last installment of poems will be online in   February/March.

You can now find the poems from the authors below, here.


Tory Adkisson • Mahmud Al-Braikan • Haider Al-Kabi • Hamutal Bar-Yosef • Emma Bolden • J. Camp Brown • Nahshon Cook • Ismelda Cruz • Shawn Fawson •  Elisa Gabbert • Kathleen Rooney •  Dan Gutstein • Paul Hostovsky • Jessie Janeshek • Kathleen Kirk • Diane LeBlanc • Ann Lynn •  Ruth Madievsky • Thomas March • Matthew Minicucci • Abby E. Murray • Pablo Otavalo • Michelle Peñaloza • Dan Pinkerton • Laura Ramos • Gwen North Reiss • AJ Roberts • Tomaž Šalamun • Danez Smith • Frank Terry • Brandon Whiting