RHINO 2015 Online Issue No. 1.1 is up!

RHINO 2015 cover largex

The editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that our first installment of our online edition of RHINO 2015 is here!


We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly; the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.


The second installment will go up in October and the third and final installment will go up in December.

You can now find the poems from the authors below, here.


Featuring work by

Dilruba Ahmed • José Angel Araguz • Nayelly Barrios • Peter Burzynski • Marcelo Hernandez Castillo • Sara Biggs Chaney • T. Zachary Cotler • J. Jerome Cruz • Chelsea Dingman • Joe Eldridge • Jenny George • Farouk Goweda • Walid Abdallah • Andy Fogle • Susan Grimm • Sara Henning • Amorak Huey • Esteban Ismael • Olja Savičević Ivančević • Andrea Jurjević • Don Judson • Samantha Leigh • Gregory Mahrer • Nate Marshall • Carlo Matos • Meredith McDonough • Faisal Mohyuddin Christina Mun-Lutz  Maureen O’Brien  Sunthorn Phu  •Noh Anothai • Khadijah Queen • Kevin Riel • Carol Sadtler • sam sax • Kevin Simmonds • Rachel L. Slotnick • Lisa Summe • Paul Tran • Rachel Jamison Webster • Keith S. Wilson • Monika Zobel 


Congratulations 2015 Editors’ Prize Winner Jose Angel Araguz, 2nd Prize Winner Paul Tran, Honorable Mention Nate Marshall, and Finalists!

Every year the Editors of RHINO Poetry select works that have had the greatest impact on us, and award them the Editors’ Prize. Cash awards are given for First Prize, Second Prize, and Honorable Mention. In addition, we nominate the First Prize and sometimes other place winners for the Pushcart Prize. There is no application process.

2015 Editors’ Prizes

Araguz author photo 2

First Prize: Jose Angel Araguz – Joe


Second Prize: Paul Tran – [He picked me up]


Honorable Mention: Nate Marshall – buying new shoes

The editors are very pleased to name these 4 Finalists:

Christina Mun-Lutz  – A Story of War
sam saxEssay on Crying in Public
Derek J G WilliamsThese Kingdoms of Ours
Their work will appear in RHINO 2015 (and available on our website), scheduled for release (as always) in April, National Poetry Month.

RHINO Reads! Open mic and featured readers Valerie Wallace and Rachel Jamison Webster 2-28-14

Valerie for the Reader

Valerie Wallace



Rachel Jamison Webster

Open Mike        6:00 pm – 6:30 pm

Featured Poets        6:45 pm – 7:30 pm

Brothers K

500 Main St.




Valerie Wallace teaches poetry at the Newberry Library and City Colleges of Chicago and is an associate editor with RHINO. She also serves on the advisory board and as a mentor for the Afghan Women’s Writing Project.  Her work was chosen by Margaret Atwood for the 2012 Atty Award, and has been supported most recently by the Midwest Writers Center, Ragdale Foundation, Vermont Studio Center, the Barbara Deming Fund for Women, and the Illinois Arts Council. She is the author of a chapbook, The Dictators’ Guide to Good Housekeeping  (Dancing Girl Press 2011).

Rachel Jamison Webster grew up in the small town of Madison, Ohio, on Lake Erie and now lives in Evanston, Illinois, where she teaches at Northwestern University. She is the author of September: Poems, (Northwestern University Press 2013), and a chapbook, The Blue Grotto (Dancing Girl Press 2009). For several years, she designed and taught writing workshops for urban youth, helping to develop Words 37 with Chicago’s First Lady Maggie Daley and co-editing two anthologies of writing by young Chicagoans, Alchemy (2001) and Paper Atrium (2005). Rachel is also the editor and director of the online anthology of international poetry, UniVerse. Her most recent work with UniVerse has involved creating a radio series about poetry for Chicago Public Radio, called “The Gift.”


Please consider a tax deductible gift to RHINO. Thank you!