RHINO 2014 Issue 1.3 is online!

rhino2014The editors of RHINO are thrilled to announce that our third installment of RHINO 2014 is online!

We continue to remain committed to publishing a print journal yearly:  the publication of the poems online in three installments (beginning 6 months after print publication) is intended to supplement and broaden the outreach of the print journal.

Our first installment of the poems from the 2014 issue went up in July 2014, and the second installment in October 2014. This is the final installment; you can now find the poems from the authors below, and all the rest, here.


R. A. Allen • Samuel Arizpe • Michael Bazzett • GF Boyer • Ronda Broatch • Jody Burke-Kaiser • Joanne M. Clarkson •  Nina Corwin • Stephanie Dickinson • Laura Donnelly • Marc J. Frazier • Dan Godston • Jane Huffman • Elaine Johanson • Rachel Kubie • David Lazar • Federico García Lorca • Eitan Rubinfeld • Curtis Luckey • Nadra Mabrouk • Y. Madrone • Diane K. Martin • Teresa Milbrodt • Dave Nielsen • Nancy Pagh • Ricardo Pau-Llosa • Roger Pfingston • Alexis Pope • Megan Pugh • Doug Ramspeck • Rainer Maria Rilke • Susanne Petermann • Henry Rodgers • Michael Robins • Alida Rol • Tomaž Šalamun  Cintia Santana • Peter Schireson • Sarah J. Sloat • Jon Snider • Sarah Terry • Sara Tracey • Sara Wainscott • Mike White • Benjamin Winkler • William Winfield Wright 




RHINO 2014 Release Party!!


Sunday, April 6, 2014

630 Clinton Place, Evanston, IL

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Questions? editors@rhinoopoetry.org

Featuring Illinois poets from RHINO 2014

William Coughlin

Marc Frazier

Dan Godston

Eitan Rubenfield

Tim Hunt

Jody Burke-Kaiser

Pablo Otavalo

Sara Tracey

plus past contributors at the open mike (space will be limited)

RHINO 2014 & other delicious publications and accoutrements

will be available for purchase & perusal.

Check out our photos from the 2013 Release Party!

photos from the 2012 Release Party!

RHINO Reads! 4-26-13 Open Mic & Featured Poets Kirstin Hotelling Zona and Sara Tracey LOCATION CHANGE

Open Mike        6:00 pm – 6:30 pm

Featured Poets        6:45 pm – 7:30 pm


JJ Java Cafe

911 Foster

Evanston, IL


Kirstin Hotelling Zona‘s poems have appeared in a number of journals and anthologies, such as the Southwest Review, Beloit Poetry Journal, Poet Lore, The Spoon River Poetry Review, and The Mom Egg. “Riptide, ” the title poem of her full-length manuscript, received the Elizabeth Matchett Stover Prize. She is also the author of numerous essays on modern poetry; a book of criticism, Marianne Moore, Elizabeth Bishop, and May Swenson: The Feminist Poetics of Self-Restraint; and editor of Dear Elizabeth.  Kirstin lives with her husband and two young children in Maine and in Illinois, where she is an associate professor at Illinois State University, co-host of Poetry Radio on WGLT, and the editor of The Spoon River Poetry Review. She will read from her latest collection, “Drift” (finalist for 2011 finishing line press open book contest).       

Sara Tracey is the author of Some Kind of Shelter (forthcoming, Misty Publications, 2013) and Flood Year (dancing girl press 2009).  Her work has recently appeared in Vinyl Poetry, The Collagist, Harpur Palate, and Passages North. She is a regular performer in The Chicago Poetry Bordello, a teaching artist in The Rooster Moans Poetry Cooperative, and a PhD candidate at the University of Illinois Program for Writers.